Carbon Pricing in Higher Education Working Group

The Carbon Pricing in Higher Education Working Group is advancing carbon pricing through colleges and universities. The group was founded by Yale University, Swarthmore College, the Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition, and Second Nature. Its goals are to 1) support colleges and universities that wish to model internal carbon pricing on campus, and 2) explore the role of higher education in advancing carbon pricing on a state, regional, or federal level.

Contact the working group founders:

Casey Pickett, Director of the Carbon Charge, Yale University, casey.pickett@yale.edu

Isabel Saldarriaga Arango, Communications Officer, Carbon Markets and Innovation, World Bank, isaldarriaga@worldbankgroup.org

Aurora Winslade, Director of Sustainability, Swarthmore College, awinsla1@swarthmore.edu

Ruby Woodside, Innovative Services Manager, Second Nature, rwoodside@secondnature.org

Internal Carbon Pricing in Higher Education Toolkit

This toolkit is a joint project of many authors at several schools and institutions, and is an outcome of the Carbon Pricing in Higher Education Working Group. We wrote it as a resource for others considering how they might price carbon. In the toolkit, we explore a diversity of experiences establishing internal fees and integrating carbon prices into institutional decision-making processes. We are excited to support your journey.

This toolkit is in beta. The authors invite questions and recommendations for improvement. We look forward to integrating your ideas to make the toolkit as useful, inclusive, and easy-to-use as possible.  Thank you for investing your time to explore the toolkit and to consider a price on carbon at your institution.

Toolkit Editors

Casey Pickett, Director of the Carbon Charge, Yale University, casey.pickett@yale.edu

Ruby Woodside, Innovative Services Manager, Second Nature, rwoodside@secondnature.org

Toolkit Authors

Alex Barron, Smith College, Assistant Professor of Environmental Science and Policy, abarron@smith.edu

Casey Pickett, Director of the Carbon Charge, Yale University, casey.pickett@yale.edu

Nathaniel Graf, Climate Action Senior Fellow, Swarthmore College, sustainability@swarthmore.edu

Mick Dalrymple, Director, University Sustainability Practices, Arizona State University, Mick.Dalrymple@asu.edu

Breanna Parker, Smith College Class of 2018, breannajane314@gmail.com

Leanne Bilodeau, Associate Director of Sustainability Operations – Campus Planning + Development, University of British Columbia, leanne.bilodeau@ubc.ca

Joanna Marshall-Cook, Senior Sustainability Manager, University College London, j.marshall-cook@ucl.ac.uk

John Madden, Director, Sustainability and Engineering, University of British Columbia, j.madden@ubc.ca

Ciaran Jebb, Sustainability Office of Energy, Transport, and Water, University College London, c.jebb@ucl.ac.uk

Liam Appelson, Yale University Student, liam.appelson@yale.edu

Aurora Winslade, Director of Sustainability, Swarthmore College, awinsla1@swarthmore.edu

Susan Sayre, Smith College, Assistant Professor of Economics, ssayre@smith.edu

Dano Weisbord, Smith College, Director of Sustainability and Space Planning, dweisbord@smith.edu

 

Acknowledgements

We are deeply appreciative of the following people for their review and editing support:

Page Atcheson Matilsky, Our Climate

Meghan Chapple, George Washington University

Michael Evans, Williams College

Alice Favero, Georgia Tech University

Preston Jacobson, University of Tennessee Knoxville

Matti Kahra, Confederation of Finnish Industries

David Love, Williams College

Janet Peace, Center for Climate and Energy Solutions

Dylan Walsh 

Katrina Wyman, New York University

 

Interested in learning more?

For questions, comments, or to express interest in contributing to the toolkit, fill out this form: