Second Nature Board of Directors

The Second Nature Board of Directors is comprised of a diverse set of leaders who are passionate about the mission to accelerate climate action through higher education.  They provide strategic oversight and hold fiduciary responsibility for Second Nature.

James L. Buizer, Former Chair
Founding Director, Arizona Institutes for Resilience, University of Arizona
Timothy Carter, Ex Officio
President, Second Nature
Laurie Fowler
Executive Director for Public Service and External Affairs, Odum School of Ecology
Dianne F. Harrison
President, California State University, Northridge, Climate Leadership Steering Committee
Rachel Hodgdon
President & CEO, International WELL Building Institute
Edward A. Johnson, Former Chair
President, University Growth Solutions LLC
Steven Knapp
President and CEO, Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh
Scott D. Miller
President, Virginia Wesleyan University and Chair, Climate Leadership Steering Committee
Christine Scott Nelson, Vice Chair
Trustee of Allegheny College and Chair of the Board of Laspau, a Harvard Affiliate
Elsa M. Núñez
President, Eastern Connecticut State University
Judith A. Ramaley, Chair
President Emerita, Winona State University
Valerie Smith
President, Swarthmore College
Nancy Sutley
Chief Sustainability and Economic Development Officer, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Karen Wheeler, Ex Officio Treasurer
Director of Finance and Administration, Second Nature
Wim Wiewel
President, Lewis and Clark College, Climate Leadership Steering Committee