Climate Leadership Awards

The annual Second Nature Climate Leadership Awards recognize innovative and advanced leadership in sustainability, climate mitigation, and resilience at signatory campuses of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Commitments. They do so based on demonstrated advances in innovation, embedded opportunities, and student preparedness with relation to sustainability and climate action.

Second Nature offers these awards in partnership with the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) since 2015. Award winners are recognized as part of the Greenbuild Leadership Awards Program, benefiting from global publicity opportunities.

2017 Climate Leadership Award Winners Now Open

Nominate your school by June 12, 2017 by 11:59 pm PT

The 8th annual Climate Leadership Awards are here! Nominate your college or university and make your institutional accomplishments known. To be eligible, you must be a signatory of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Commitments and be in fulfillment of Commitment requirements. If you are unsure about your institution’s fulfillment status, contact

Nominees will be considered based on their commitment to climate neutrality, curriculum integration, partnerships, and innovative leadership. Applications are due June 12, 2017 by 11:59 pm PT. Award winners will be recognized as part of the Greenbuild Leadership Awards Program, benefiting from global publicity opportunities.

Tips and FAQS

Read our recommendations for successful applications and answers to frequently asked questions. Learn more.